By-Elections: Photo, Graphics and Copy Editors!

Do you have a passion for photography? Are you a visual artist? When you read an article, do you pick it apart and think of ways to improve it? If any of those things describe you, then we’ve got some good news for you! The Link is looking for a new Photo Editor, Graphics Editor, and Copy Editor. What does that mean? Here’s a basic job description for each position.

Photo Editor: Your job will be to coordinate with section editors to make sure that all the stories that need photos will have a photographer. You’ll look to recruit a team of photographers and work with them constantly to improve their skills. You’ll also edit photos sent by contributors, and be the photographer yourself when no contributors are available.

Graphics Editor: Similar to photo editor, but for stories that require graphics instead of, or in addition to, photos. Your job will be to recruit and manage a team of artists and assign them stories to make graphics for.

Copy Editor: Your job is to look over every story that we publish and fix it up. That means you’ll be making sure that articles abide by our style guide and mandate, are meticulously fact-checked, and that the writing style is readable and compelling.

The by-elections will be held on Tuesday, Jan. 23 at 5 p.m. in our office in H-649, just before our regular pitch meeting.

Those interested in the positions must submit a one-page cover letter explaining why they think they’d be a good fit for the position they’re applying for. This letter must be submitted no later than Tuesday, Jan. 16 at 4 p.m., along with a portfolio of three relevant contributions to The Link. The letter must be posted on the wall of The Link office. Please email with any questions.

Eligible staff: Mark Di Franco, Dustin Kagan-Fleming, Erika Morris, Eric Beaudoin, Daren Zomerman, Elias Grigoriadis, Shreya Biswas, Ireland Compton, Marissa Ramnanan, Penina Simon, Elisa Barbier, Deanna Hewitt, Aiden Locke, Elaine Genest.

One more contribution to be eligible: Ion Etxebarria, Olivier Cadotte, Victoria Lamas, Fatima Dia, Aysha White, Amely Coulombe, Jeremie Gauthier-Caron.

Two more contributions to be eligible: Gabor Bata, Natalia Blasser, Aakruti Patel, Cailin Woodward, Evelyn Hansen-Gillis, James Betz-Gray, Ninon Scotto Di Uccio, Simon New, Jeffrey Muntu, Caisse Doubleday, Matt Garies, Jillian Reynolds, Shakti Langlois-Ortega, Sarah Jesmer, Samantha Stevens, Victoria Lewin, Wala Amara.

Launch Panel #4: Gender and Sexuality Panel »

« PBHT122: The 2017 Link Athlete of the Year Edition