Apply for the Doug Leslie Bursary: Editors and Staff Welcome to Apply

Doug Leslie was The Link’s very first editor-in-chief in 1980.

His work led to the success of The Link newspaper through its early stages, following the merging of the two campus papers—The Gregorian and Loyola News.

When he died in 2012, The Doug Leslie bursary was created in his honour. Every year, this bursary is either awarded in full to one staff member ($1,000), or split among two staff members ($500). 

To apply, write a one-to-two page letter explaining your level of merit and motivation for the bursary, as well as commitment to the publication and the projects you would take up for The Link if you won the award. A sample of three (3) contributions to The Link is also required. You must be a currently registered Concordia student and must be returning next year. 

Please send the documentation as a PDF to

Applications are due by Nov. 29.

Eligible to apply: Anthony Issa, Aude Simon, Autumn Darey, Cèdre Obeid, Conor Tomalty, Diane Yeung, Elias Grigoriadis, Iness Rifay, Ivan de Jacquelin, Jaime Kerr, Jared Lackman-Mincoff, Kaitlin Gong, Maria Cholakova, Mariana Chajon Olivero, Marilou Brickert, Menel Rehab, Mohammad Khan, Myriam Ouazzani, Nadine Abdellatif, Olivia Integlia, Sandra Mouafo, Simon Feisthauer Fournet, Sophie Dufresne, Valentine Alibert and Zachary Fortier.

One contribution needed to apply: Callista Mille, Dallas Calvert, Ibrahim Mahmoud, Kathleen Champoux, Meghan Kerr and Mélanie Tremblay Turgeon.

Two contributions needed to apply: Alexa Toguri-Laurin, Allyson Brownie, Aminah Hannan, Andraé Lerone Lewis, Anthony De Marte, Brie Shimansky, Clément Lechat, Erika Tremblay, Isabelle Devi Poirier, Jess Marshall, Liam Christin, Lilly Junod, Mégan Le Stum, Menna Nayel, Naomi Waters, Olivier Paiement and Zevida Germain.

If you don’t currently have staff status but you will by the time applications are due please send in your application anyway. If you are unsure about your standing, please email

By-Election to be held Nov. 30 »

« By-election Oct. 4: Who’s running and how to vote