By-Election to be held July 18

Following months of internal discussions and reforms to address its sustainability issues, The Link’s Board of Directors has approved changes to editors’ job descriptions and compensation structure. 

As a result of these changes, every current editor has agreed to resign and run again if they choose. The purpose of this by-election is to give all candidates who could not conform to the old working conditions a fair opportunity to run. 

The Link's by-election will take place Tuesday, July 18 at 6 p.m. over Zoom. The following positions are available:


Managing Editor

Coordinating Editor

Co-News Editor (2)

Fringe Arts Editor

Sports Editor

Opinions Editor

Creative Director

Photo Editor

Graphics Editor

Video Editor

Features Editor

Outreach Coordinator

Copy Editor

Those interested must submit a one-page cover letter explaining why they think they’d be a good fit for the position they’re applying for. This letter must be submitted no later than July 14 at 4 p.m. along with a portfolio of three contributions to The Link relevant to the position to which they are applying. Those running for editor-in-chief must submit eight samples from at least three sections.

Those applying for the positions of photo editor, graphics editor, or video editor must submit a portfolio of three past contributions to The Link and also submit at least two examples of work within the medium of the position.

Those applying for creative director must submit a portfolio of three past contributions to The Link and also submit at least two sample layouts and one other visual form.

The letter and other required materials must be sent to by 4 p.m. on July 14. Please include in CC. Interested candidates must read the job description for the position they want before applying.

To be considered staff, students must have contributed four times or three times if they were staff in the previous semester. For any questions about your eligibility, email

Eligible to run and vote: Alexa Toguri-Laurin, Anthony Issa, Aude Simon, Autumn Darey, Callista Mille, Cèdre Obeid, Conor Tomalty, Dallas Calvert, Diane Yeung, Iness Rifay, Ivan de Jacquelin, Jaime Kerr, Jared Lackman-Mincoff, Kaitlin Gong, Liam Christin, Maria Cholakova, Mariana Chajon Oliveros, Marianne Liendo-Dufort, Marilou Brickert, Mohammad Khan, Myriam Ouazzani, Nadine Abdellatif, Olivia Integlia, Renee Kennedy Barnes, Sandra Mouafo, Sophie Dufresne, Valentine Alibert, Vincenzo Mercuri, Dana Hachwa, Hannah Vogan, Philippine D'Halleine, Panos Michalakopoulos, Matt Piscina, Louise Sauvard, Alexandra Nackley, Menel Rehab, Gabrielle Laperrière-Leblanc, Maya Gürler and Zachary Fortier.

One contribution needed: Jiawei Hong.

Two contributions needed: Menna Nayel and Blake Sagara.

Three contributions needed: Abby Cole, India Das-Brown, Alexandra Blackie, Albano Souhail and Chantal Marie Schromeda.

Summer 2023 By-Election: Who’s running and how to vote on July 18 »

« 2023 Annual General Meeting, Notice of Elections & By-Law Amendment Proposals